Hokie Wellness offers a wide range of services, including individual and group education, training, consultation, assessment, advocacy, outreach and prevention programming.

Course Fees

A course fee of $105 will only be charged if you need to complete one of our interventions as a result of: a) being found responsible of an alcohol violation of the student code of conduct by the Office of Student Conduct, and/or b) services are necessary to complete court mandated education or counseling. If your referral is only the result of actions by a student organization process, you will not be charged.

Please Note the Following Class Procedures

  • You are responsible for checking your Virginia Tech email account for email notifications about completing surveys and your class assignment.
  • You will receive an initial email from Hokie Wellness when we receive your referral. This email and all emails from Hokie Wellness will begin with “Hokie Wellness: {Name of email}.” At that point, you will need to complete the Intake Form within three business days.
  • You will receive your assignment via email within five business days after completing your Intake Form. In this email, you will instructed to complete a second form that is used to provide information to the facilitator and is part of our evaluation of the education/intervention. When this is completed, you will automatically receive an email with information about signing up for your class/appointment.
  • You then need to sign up for your session(s) by following the directions in the email (if a session is not available, you will need to contact Hokie Wellness). Otherwise, within three business days following your assignment, Hokie Wellness staff will assign you a session based on your university class schedule. This will be communicated via email.
  • If you have a conflict (e.g. common-time exam) with the class assigned to you, it is your responsibility to contact Hokie Wellness at 231-2233 between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at least 48-hours before your assigned class/appointment.
  • 30 days after the completion of your session(s), you will be required to complete an online Check-Up Form. You will receive an email about this as well.
  • A $25.00 administrative fee will be charged to your student account if you fail to attend your scheduled session, if you reschedule your class more than once, or fail to complete the required forms by the deadline. Additionally, you will receive a “Failure to Comply with a University Official” conduct referral for failing to complete these educational assignments.
  • Failure of the individual student to complete the assigned sanction by the time prescribed by the Office of Student Conduct may result in a one semester of suspension from the university.

The only excused absences are for an illness, as documented via university procedures and special circumstances, approved by the Dean of Students Office. Please provide at least 24-hours' notice. Please contact Hokie Wellness should you have questions or need additional information.

Alcohol Education Classes

DESCRIPTION

Using a harm-reduction approach, this class addresses:

  • Alcohol Consumption Patterns of Students at Virginia Tech
  • Virginia and Virginia Tech Alcohol Laws and Policies
  • Standard Drinks
  • Blood Alcohol Content
  • Tolerance
  • Bystander Intervention

In addition, this class explores harm-reduction strategies including:

  • Lowering risk
  • Choosing not to drink
  • Specifying consumption guidelines and tips

This class is facilitated by peer educators and consists of a pre-class survey, one two-hour session, and a follow-up self-assessment.

COURSE PROCEDURES

  1. You will receive an initial email from the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center when you have been added to the Reality Check: Party Positive course. At that point you must complete the pre-class survey within three business days.
  2. After completing the survey, you will have the option to sign up for your class by following the directions in the email. If a class is not available, contact the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center if you would like your class assignment immediately. Within two business days following the completion of your survey, staff in the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center will assign you a class based on your university class schedule and you will receive an email confirmation.
  3. If you have a conflict (e.g. common-time exam) with the class assigned to you, it is your responsibility to contact the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center at 540-231-2233 between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. within 48 hours of your class assignment.
  4. Following the completion of your class, you will be required to complete a follow-up online checkup within 30 days.

ATTENDING CLASS

  1. You must arrive on time or you will not be admitted to the class.
  2. To be admitted to class, you must bring your feedback form generated by the online assessment.
  3. The only excused absences are for an illness as documented via university procedures or for special circumstances as approved by the Dean of Students Office. When possible, provide at least 24-hours notice.

STUDENT CONDUCT REFERRALS AND COURT ORDERED OR LAWYER RECOMMENDED EDUCATION

If you are required to take this class by Student Conduct or any court or probation office, or if you are taking this class on the recommendation of your lawyer, there is a course fee of $63.  This fee covers the cost associated with administering, facilitating, updating, revising, and evaluating all Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center alcohol education interventions. The fee is charged as a “Health Services Fee” and is submitted to the recipient(s) of your online bill.

Failure of the individual student to complete the educational activity by the time prescribed by Student Conduct may result in a one semester of suspension from the university.

A $25 administrative fee will be charged to your student account if you fail to attend your scheduled class, reschedule your class more than once, or fail to complete the pre-class and follow-up surveys. Additionally, you will receive a “Failure to Comply with a University Official” conduct referral for failing to comply with these educational assignments.

DESCRIPTION

This class consists of two 90-minute sessions that provide information on:

  • Alcohol Consumption Patterns of Students at Virginia Tech
  • Virginia and Virginia Tech Alcohol Laws and Policies
  • Standard Drinks
  • Blood Alcohol Content
  • Tolerance
  • Bystander Intervention

The course also reviews self-management strategies for monitoring and controlling consumption.  Participants are required to keep a daily drinking log, complete all assignments prior to class, and complete a follow-up self-assessment.

COURSE PROCEDURES

  1. You will receive an initial email from the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center when you have been added to the Reality Check: Party Positive course. At that point you must complete the pre-class survey within three business days.
  2. After completing the survey, you will have the option to sign up for your class by following the directions in the email. If a class is not available, contact the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center if you would like your class assignment immediately. Within two business days following the completion of your survey, staff in the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center will assign you a class based on your university class schedule and you will receive an email confirmation.
  3. If you have a conflict (e.g. common-time exam) with the class assigned to you, it is your responsibility to contact the Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center at 540-231-2233 between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. within 48 hours of your class assignment.
  4. Following the completion of your class, you will be required to complete a follow-up online checkup within 30 days.

ATTENDING CLASS

  1. You must arrive on time or you will not be admitted to the class.
  2. You must bring your feedback form generated by the online survey to be admitted to your second class.
  3. The only excused absences are for an illness as documented via university procedures or for special circumstances as approved by the Dean of Students Office. When possible, provide at least 24-hours notice.

STUDENT CONDUCT REFERRALS AND COURT ORDERED OR LAWYER RECOMMENDED EDUCATION

If you are required to take this class by Student Conduct or any court or probation office, or if you are taking this class on the recommendation of your lawyer, there is a course fee of $100.  This fee covers the cost associated with administering, facilitating, updating, revising, and evaluating all Campus Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center alcohol education interventions. The fee is charged as a “Health Services Fee” and is submitted to the recipient(s) of your online bill.

Failure of the individual student to complete the educational activity by the time prescribed by Student Conduct may result in a one semester of suspension from the university.

A $25 administrative fee will be charged to your student account if you fail to attend your scheduled class, reschedule your class more than once, or fail to complete the pre-class and follow-up surveys. Additionally, you will receive a “Failure to Comply with a University Official” conduct referral for failing to compete these educational assignments.